Neither currency stability nor balanced and sustainable growth: How SARB policy is violating South Africa’s constitution

xhllxqmbmqdlcgxqtw8q

Article first published in Buddy Wells’ Blog

xhllxqmbmqdlcgxqtw8q

According to the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, the SA Reserve Bank’s primary mandate is to “protect the value of the currency in the interests of balanced and sustainable economic growth”.

The policy framework the SARB uses to achieve its constitutional mandate is set by parliament in the SA Reserve Bank Act. Unlike the constitution, this policy framework can be changed fairly easily and legally, as long as the proposed new policies are in line with the SARBs constitutional mandate.

In the late 90s, then Finance Minister Trevor Manuel liberalised SA’s monetary policy, relaxing exchange controls and allowing large companies to delist from the JSE.
Then, in February 2000, the SARB policy framework was changed to give the SARB Monetary Policy Committee one task only: Keep inflation between 3 to 6%.

The net result of these changes can be observed in this graph below: (Note what happens around 2000).

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 4.59.12 PM

Since then, the SARB has only used one instrument to keep inflation within its 3 to 6% target: The SARB repo rate. But while other central banks also use other instruments to cool and heat economic growth such as adjusting the capital reserve requirement of commercial banks, the SARB inexplicably does not, despite its very purpose being to use whatever tools it can to achieve its constitutional mandate.

Even stranger, the 3 to 6% inflation target has never been adjusted, even when our inflation has been mainly cost push (as in recent years) and not driven by demand from an overheating economy. This is especially strange considering inflation targets vary greatly from central bank to central bank. The 3 to 6% inflation target is a relatively arbitrary one. (Click here to see a list of varied inflation targets of central banks around the world).

Slowing an economy already on the brink of recession and with extreme unemployment in order to try and control cost push inflation is pure madness. (For more on the folly of controlling cost push inflation with the repo rate click here).

Raising the repo rate (slowing the economy) to keep mostly cost push inflation within an arbitrary target when growth is around 0%, unemployment is near 30%, and ratings agencies are threatening to downgrade us due to “poor growth”, also seems a tad unconstitutional, and yet that is exactly what happened over the last few years. At the time, not a word was uttered by the “defenders” of our constitution. We now have record unemployment, recession and junk status.

Parliament has the constitutional obligation to adjust the Reserve Bank Act whenever necessary to ensure the SARB has all available policies in its framework to “protect the value of the currency in the interests of sustainable and balanced growth”. Inexplicably, despite the fact that the ruling party is rightly blamed for our slow growth and despite the growing lack of faith in them as recent polls show, the ANC have not tried any other policies other than the rigid narrow band inflation targeting and the liberalised exchange controls that have proven themselves utterly ineffective. Even now, as the economy contracts into recession, unemployment reaches record levels, record debt and the cost of borrowing skyrockets due to ratings downgrades blamed repeatedly by the ratings agencies themselves on “slow growth”, none of the Ministers of Finance has even once adjusted the inflation target upwards to allow economic growth during times of cost push inflation as they are mandated and constitutionally bound to do.

But it is not just the government that is to blame for the rigid, unimaginative and limited policy framework of the SARB. The general public, and the opinion makers and thought leaders who inform them, have also allowed the SARB and government to ignore their constitutional obligations. We should all educate ourselves on the consequences of monetary policy, not just because it’s a fascinating topic, but because it impacts our pockets more than any other single factor: With the Repo rate at 7%, the SARB pulls around R220 billion per year from our economy. A massive amount. Money that would otherwise be saved, invested or spent on our businesses.

Most South Africans still labour under the illusion that the SA Reserve Bank Act and the SARB policy framework is the best we can do to maintain a strong, stable currency in the interests of balanced and sustainable growth. Recession, record unemployment and junk status are seemingly not impacting on that religious conviction.

While rightly rushing to defend the words of the SARBs constitutional mandate, none seem concerned that the SARB policy framework since the late 90’s has proven itself woefully inadequate at “protecting the value of the currency in the interests of balanced and sustainable growth”.

What’s the use of defending a constitution while ignoring the fact that is being violated?

The evidence shows us that, since exchange controls were relaxed by finance minister Trevor Manuel in the late 90’s (when large corporations were also allowed to delist from the JSE) and inflation targeting were adopted, the rand’s value has been far more volatile, despite assurances that the a “free market” would lead to currency stability.

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 5.24.34 PM

The graph above shows that the changes to the SARB policy since the late 90’s were clearly unconstitutional, as they have led to extreme currency volatility without any improvement in the long-term decay in the Rand’s value to speak of. Is the silence on this issue from the mainstream commentators because they believe the mythical “free market” is more sacred than our constitution, or the wellbeing of our people? Is the constitution being sacrificed on the altar of the cult of the free market? What good is protecting the wording of our constitution if we turn a blind eye to its violation?

So much for maintaining the value of the currency, but how about achieving balanced and sustainable growth, the end goal of the SARB’s constitutional obligation?

Screen Shot 2017-09-13 at 5.26.03 PM

Firstly, for growth to be sustainable, it must exist. We currently do not have long-term economic growth to speak of, and are in recession (negative growth).

Secondly, for growth to be sustainable, it must be inclusive. It is not sustainable if it does not reduce poverty and inequality in the long run. It is especially not sustainable if unemployment is at 28% and growing as we have here in South Africa. Increasing inequality in the face of abject poverty leads to more unrest, and political instability, and if not addressed, eventually, civil war or revolution.
We simply cannot afford to allow our future growth to exclude our poorest.

Thirdly, for growth to be balanced it must be inclusive. It is not balanced unless the lives of all our people and not just the rich are being improved by it. That is self-evident.

Fourthly, to be sustainable, balanced growth has to be environmentally friendly.

Clearly we do not have enough growth of any kind under the current SARB policy framework, and what little growth we have had is not balanced or sustainable.

With 28% unemployment and massive tracts of under-utilized land and capital, SA is ideally suited to protecting the value of the currency and achieving balanced and sustainable growth through increasing the supply of local goods, energy and skills through subsidies, zero interest loans and grants etc.

South Africans have proven to be fierce defenders of the wording of our constitution, but what’s the use of defending the constitution while ignoring the fact that it’s being violated?

If we are to truly defend our constitution, we must be as passionate at demanding that all institutions, especially the SARB, actually carry out their constitutional obligations.

https://buddywells.wordpress.com/2017/07/17/neither-currency-stability-nor-balanced-and-sustainable-growth-how-sarb-policy-is-violating-south-africas-constitution/

8 Comments on "Neither currency stability nor balanced and sustainable growth: How SARB policy is violating South Africa’s constitution"

  1. Jannie van der Merwe | September 14, 2017 at 10:17 am | Reply

    I am so fortunate that through this publication i can educate myself on matters that were previously foreign to me. As per usual the “defenders” of the constitution shall not utter a word of disaproval of the current status quo. It must also be said that we do have a government that ignores the stated sentiments or me think it is a case of us getting the government that we deserve. Either way we are shortghanged.

    • Thanks Jannie. We’ve been saying this the entire time that SARB is violating the constitution hence the PP was correct in her remedial actions in the CIEX matter to have the mandate reviewed. But the media pummelled her to submission.

  2. Maxakadzi Maluleka | September 14, 2017 at 2:46 pm | Reply

    Surely, a huge chunk of the nation does not understand what this inflation is all about, why should it be kept within a certain range, etc. I do not have a clue as to why repo rate goes up and down, all I know is that up means paying more interest.
    If the policy framework of SARB can be changed to insure that we all benefit from the economy, why can’t it be done. Those who have a clear understanding of monetary policy must simply engage minister of finance and if that fails, court is there to rescue the nation.

    • Jeff Koorbanally | September 15, 2017 at 5:21 pm | Reply

      The less you know the better, the whole thing is just to play with our minds using these fancy words of bullship manipulated accounting.

      Sarb has failed in every aspect of their mandate which they continue to defend!

      Inflation control

      The primary function of the Reserve Bank is to protect the value of South Africa’s currency. 

      In discharging this role, it takes responsibility for:

      *Ensuring that the South African money, banking and financial system as a whole is sound, meets the requirements of the community and keeps abreast of international developments;

      *Assisting the South African government, as well as other members of the economic community of southern Africa, with data relevant to the formulation and implementation of macro economic policy; and 

      *Informing the South African community and all stakeholders abroad about monetary policy and the South African economic situation.

      All the Governors & Deputies since 1994 – date are sellout & traitors that should be put in jail and fired!

      This lesetja kganyago takes every black person in this country as fools, the bullshit things he preaches in public domain insulting our intelligence.

      He’s been captured by Trevor Manual & Maria ramos ( Spiderweb) since 1996 while being treasury DG. I told him this in his face.

  3. It is not for the PP to change the mandate of the SARB. This is a separate political process that has to start from the legislative side. We have given the ANC the mandate to make such changes for the last 20 years. They just have to make the changes. They do not need for the PP to sneak in such changes by the back door when it is clearly not for her office to do that.

    The ANC should do what is right for the us as a country. Just because changes have to be made does not mean we have to go about it flippantly like she did by sneaking in remedial actions which were beyond what the initial complaint was about.

    • Fish Monger, the PP’s remedial actions stemming from CIex report included the mandate of SARB to be reviewed. Of course she doesn’t change the mandate. Parliament would have to do that.

  4. We need leaders with balls now..leaders who couldn’t careless about rating agencies and so called economists…we need patriotic leaders in the mold of Chavez,Putin,Castro,Lumumba,Biko,,leaders who rather die for their ideals

  5. If the “free market” was such a panacea, how come many companies collude and form illegal cartels?

    Secondly why do many companies who believe in “Free Market” continue to seek protection from their Global competitors who are highly productive in their countries while these same companies campaigned to compete in a Global market?

    Thirdly,SARB control by Bank of International Settlement in Basel-Switzerland has turned it into just a rubber stamp for decisions taken by some faceless individuals at BIS.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*